UNIX for Dummies, 5/e

John R. Levine, Margaret Levine Young

  • 出版商: Hungry Minds
  • 出版日期: 2004-01-30
  • 售價: $1,110
  • 貴賓價: 9.5$1,055
  • 語言: 英文
  • 頁數: 408
  • 裝訂: Paperback
  • ISBN: 0764541471
  • ISBN-13: 9780764541476
  • 下單後立即進貨 (約1~3週)



  • UNIX For Dummies has been the standard for beginning UNIX references for nearly ten years, and this latest edition continues that tradition of success
  • This unparalled resource is updated to cover the latest applications of UNIX technology, including Linux and Mac desktops as well as how UNIX works with Microsoft server software
  • Thorough coverage of how to handle UNIX installation, file management, software, utilities, networks, Internet access, and other basic tasks
  • Aimed at the first-time UNIX desktop user growing accustomed to the ins and outs of the OS, as well as the beginning administrator who needs to get a handle on UNIX networking basics
  • Written by John Levine and Margaret Levine Young, longtime UNIX experts and highly experienced For Dummies authors

Table of Contents


Part I: Before the Beginning.

Chapter 1: Log Me In, UNIX!

Chapter 2: What Is UNIX, Anyway?

Chapter 3: A Few Lines on Linux.

Part II: Some Basic Stuff.

Chapter 4: Opening Windows on UNIX.

Chapter 5: Files for Fun and Profit.

Chapter 6: Directories for Fun and Profit.

Chapter 7: The Shell Game.

Chapter 8: Where’s That File?

Chapter 9: Printing (The Gutenberg Thing).

Part III: Getting Things Done.

Chapter 10: Writing Deathless Prose.

Chapter 11: Umpteen Useful UNIX Utilities.

Chapter 12: Installing Software Can Be Tricky.

Chapter 13: Juggling a Bunch of Programs.

Chapter 14: Taming Linux.

Part IV: UNIX and the Net.

Chapter 15: Your Computer Is Not Alone.

Chapter 16: Across a Crowded Network.

Chapter 17: Automating Your Office Gossip.

Chapter 18: Web Surfing for UNIX Users.

Chapter 19: Grabbing Files from the Net.

Chapter 20: Now Serving the Internet.

Part V: Help!

Chapter 21: Disaster Relief.

Chapter 22: The Case of the Missing Files.

Chapter 23: Some Programs Just Won’t Die.

Chapter 24: “My Computer Hates Me”.

Part VI: The Part of Tens.

Chapter 25: Ten Common Mistakes.

Chapter 26: Ten Times More Information Than You Want about UNIX.